Court aint so baaad :)

I got up bright and early this morning to make sure I made it to the courthouse on time. So I get to a parking garage that I thought was relatively close (10 blocks) and I’m running a little late. Get there, there’s a metal detector of course. Pull out my pockets… hey look, a leatherman:

“That’s not going anywhere, is it?” I said.
“Nope, we’ll make a claim just talk to this guy when you’re through.”

No problem. Ok, time to wait in line. These lines are the most boring things in the world. The only thing to keep you entertained is looking around and eavesdropping on other people’s conversations. Let’s play CIA agent!

– There was a really attractive brunette three people behind me in line… huge ring on her finger tho. I suck at random pickups anyway.
– Guy behind me short, spiky hair, leather jacket, stands with an attitude. Probably feels he has something to prove to the world.
– Poor guy at the window had a few violations in the last few months, probably get his license suspended. Looks like the girl behind the window is laughing at him, only her eyes and movements show it.
– The Mexican couple a few places ahead got to the window, their kid dropped a toy on the ground. If they forget it I’ll pick it up for em. Apparently they can’t make payment, so they have to goto room 130 and set up a payment plan of some sort. The girl who was helping the guys above was eavesdropping on this conversation while he filled out a form. Looks like she almost harped in, but the answers the other lady gave seemed to satisfy. Oh, the man two people behind me picked up the toy and put it in the stroller without them even knowing. Nice guy. He ended up going to the teller next to me to pay the ticket for his daughter in the hospitol. This time the girl DID harp in saying that the girl had to sign the paper. Poor guy, has to go get the signature and come all the way back again. Damn politics.

I can go on like this for a while. Sometimes I’m astounded at how much useless shit I can remember, but then I end up forgetting stupid little things… like where’d my pen go? Probably fell outta my pocket in the car :/ I got the girl I mentioned above; I just kinda walk up and slide my ticket under the space in her window. “How do you plea?” She asked. She looked a little annoyed at me, probably didn’t do something up to spec. Should have said hello. “Guilty.” I said. “Do you want to see a judge? He may reduce the fine.” “Does it ever hurt to see a judge?” “No.” “Sure, I’ll see him then.” Fill out forms, and I go wait in a courtroom.

About a half hour of waiting the judge walks in. Traffic cases are probably the easiest ever. They each take 5 minutes or less. When it was my turn I plea guilty. “Do you have anything you’d like to say?” “Well, the only info that may help my situation is proof that my siblings got insurance that very night, before I got home.” He comes up and looks at the card. “They probably had it impounded and had to pay around $200 to get it out.” “Yu.. Yes sir, I helped them with the money a few days after. He takes the card to a copier and says “If the company validates this you don’t have to come back to court.” “Uh… thanks.” It took me a few minutes to realize he meant that I didn’t have to pay anything. w00t!

That was fun. I should have done that with my last couple tickets… even though a plea of not guilty means you have to trial at a later date. Anyway, I’m hungry. I’ma eat.

Leave a Reply

