IP Man (Movie)

IP Man is a Hong Kong movie released in December of 2008, so it’s been out for a while.  I recognize Donnie Yen, the main guy, from Blade II and Hero.  The version I watched was Chinese dialogue with English subtitles.

I think it stands out among the Hong Kung flicks I’ve seen because it’s a (loose) take on a real life historical figure in a historical period during Japan’s invasion of China in WWII.  The plot kept my interest fastened and the overall message left me feeling as though any person in the film Ip Man’s position would have done the same.  The fight choreography was really well done while blending well into the plot.

Feel free to discuss with spoilers in the comments if the urge comes to you.

Leave a Reply

