Mad as a Hatter

Life has stayed kind of crazy since we had the Austrian exchange student stay with us two months ago.  Becoming a house of five seems to have kicked the world’s timing into a higher gear but even though he’s been gone for a month and a half it doesn’t feel like things have slowed down any.  The weekend after that my sister was in town and we went to Canyon Beach, Oregon.  My father was also in town only he was around for two weeks.  Memorial Day weekend we drove around the Olympic peninsula in Washington to see the Twilight (book) locations before arriving in Seattle to hang out with an old friend and show our German exchange student the big city.  In subsequent weeks we’ve also gathered a bunk bed, done a thorough cleaning of rooms to Goodwill cloths away.  We also picked a dining room table up from Craigslist in preparation for a baby-shower.

We’ve also been doing some major prep for the baby in addition to the bed and crib.  The baby shower, which is coming up, will call for a major rearrangement of stuff and we have a full-on finance plan to follow now so that my wife can take 6-8 weeks off come baby-time.  Luckily it includes specific allowance for replacing my 2.5 year old phone.

Our German exchange student has been learning to drive while she’s here because it cheaper here.  They have to take classes in stuff in Germany.  With only a month left we’ve been trying to get her on the road as much as possible.  Her test is the day or two before she flies away so the pressure is on.

Somewhat related to our German exchange student I’ve recently discovered of a way I can immerse myself in a language and I started giving it a go last Sunday night when I loaded up the German version of Skyrim.  I’ve been taking screen shots and translating the subtitles when I’m not playing so lingual structure and vocabulary will eventually get more recognizable.  That’s the theory anyway, we’ll see if it works.  It’s the bee buzzing in my brain right now, I want to get that train moving while I have a German in the house to make sure the process is getting me straight.  Also, Skyrim doesn’t get much better than when you have Orcs with two-handed hammers taunting you in German.  It’s fantastic fun!

My buddy up in Seattle energized another bee in my head which is still buzzing, only lightly waiting for it’s turn. He’s working and coding up a project of his own and having someone to converse with about learning languages set me on course to actually start laying some track and set up a Java development environment on my computer.  I almost had it right but wasn’t getting the results tutorials suggested until my brother-in-law came back from college he showed me what I missed.  I’ll get right on that after the momentum for my German Skyrim Project has established a sustainable momentum of it’s own.

Another kind of silly occurrence is that everyone in the house now plays Draw Something with each other.  That’s been going on for over a week now.  My wife just drew me a sniper; hopefully she can guess the Yoda sent back to her.  But the game is pretty awesome.  It brings families together.

I’m sure there’s more cool multi-day stuff taking up my time which I’m forgetting.  This blog is actually a relatively new occurrence too I suppose.  I’ve also gone back to using Personal Brain as my mind mapping tool of choice.  I was using Evernote but the way you can associate ideas and whatever else in Personal Brain makes it easier to jump from one thing to another, or simply link it without having to move anything anywhere.  Evernote still shines because it auto-syncs using the internet.  With Personal Brain I have to sync files from one computer to another using phone storage because I don’t want to pay for the tool just yet.

That’s it for this update.

Leave a Reply

